Hippocratic Faculty Award

History of the Award

Born on the Greek island of Kos in the fifth century BC, Hippocrates is considered the father of modern medicine. He is as well remembered for his teaching as for his practice of medicine, and the image of him teaching students under a tree has become a powerful symbol of Hippocratic medicine.

The Hippocratic Award was established by the Class of 1969 to recognize a faculty member who is not only an outstanding teacher, but also a superb clinician, mentor, and role model. It is clearly the most highly coveted award presented by the senior class to a member of the clinical faculty.

In 1969, the University of Florida College of Medicine became one of the few medical schools in the United States to acquire a cutting of the original Hippocratic tree from the Greek government. The tree was initially planted in front of Shands Hospital. In 2010, cuttings from that tree were transplanted to Wilmot Gardens, which is now the permanent site of the annual ceremony in which each graduating class recognizes the faculty member who most closely embodies the attributes of the Hippocratic physician. Since its inception, 33 different faculty members have received this award.

Society of Teaching Scholars
Hippocratic Scholars Award

The following individuals have received the Hippocratic Award on three or more occasions. They have now been retired from further consideration for this award and have been designated Hippocratic Scholars.

  • Hugh Hill, M.D. (1969,1975,1988,1989)
  • Eugene Ryerson, M.D. (1986, 1998, 2002)
  • Patrick Duff, M.D. (1991, 1999, 2007)
  • Jay Lynch, M.D. (1995, 2003, 2008)
  • Patricia Abbitt, M.D. (2004, 2009, 2012)
  • Robert Hatch, M.D., M.P.H. (2006, 2010, 2014)