Honors Convocation

The 2023 Honors Convocation will be held on Tuesday, September 12, 2023 at 5 PM in Harrell Medical Education Building in #125. An invitation is required to attend.


Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society

Alpha Omega Alpha (AΩA) is a national medical honor society established in 1902. Election to Alpha Omega Alpha is an honor signifying a lasting commitment to professionalism, leadership, scholarship, research, and community service. A lifelong honor, membership in the society confers recognition for a physician’s dedication to the profession and art of healing.

Barbara B. Bennett, M.D. Memorial Award

Established by the Class of 2002 and the Department of Obstetrics & Gynecology to recognize an outstanding third-year student pursuing a career in Obstetrics & Gynecology who best exemplifies Dr. Bennett’s honesty, integrity, clinical skill, and devotion and commitment to women’s health.

Bythewood & Baker Memorial Scholarship Award for Medical Students

This award was established in 1968 by Miss Martha Isabel Mays to recognize medical students for outstanding performance on the third-year clerkships. Highest ranked student in third-year class after selection of COM Alumni Scholarship Awards.

Carey R. Barber, M.D. Scholarship for Suicide Prevention and Depression

This award is presented to a second year student who has demonstrated interest in pursuing Family Medicine as a career, who has promoted the goal of suicide prevention, and who has worked to improve awareness of the debilitating effects of depression.

Caroline Annette Cody Memorial Scholarship Award

This award was established in memory of Caroline Annette Cody, M.D., a member of the Class of 2003, and is based on nominations from peers. It is presented to a fourth-year student who best exemplifies Caroline’s remarkable personal characteristics and altruistic service to the community. Presented by Dr. and Mrs. William Cody.

COM Alumni Award for Academic Excellence

This award was established by the University of Florida Alumni Association to honor selected senior students for academic and professional excellence, leadership, service to the College of Medicine and greater community or peers, and advocacy for under-served populations.

Curtis Crowther Memorial Award

This award is presented to students admitted to the University of Florida College of Medicine via the Medical Honors Program. The awardee is selected by a committee and recognizes students who have courage in adversity, kindness, genuine concern for others, and diligence in their academic studies.

Dr. Emma Segal Award

This award was established by Dr. Leora Lieberman MD’19 & Robert Eisinger, PhD’20, MD’22 and is meant to support residency applicants aiming to align their paths with their significant other. This award honors Dr. Emma Segal, MD Class of 2019.

Haven Perkins, M.D. Award

This award was established in 2000 in memory of Haven M. Perkins, M.D. for the purpose of supporting advanced educational experiences for students, residents and fellows. It recognizes a student who exemplifies Haven’s leadership, dedication and expertise as a teacher and mentor.

Henry E. Meleney Award

This award recognizes students who have excelled in the medical school curriculum, and who have demonstrated excellence in research and/or military service.

Joel Cohen/Patricia N. Maddalone Memorial Fund

This award recognizes a student demonstrating outstanding work in the field of infectious diseases.

Lawrence M. Goodman Trust Research Awards

Dr. Islam and Dr. Berceli ask 4th year students to complete an application about research they have conducted during their time here in medical school so they can be awarded the Honors in Research award. Once the applications have been received, Dr. Berceli and Dr. Islam review the applications and decide if the students should receive the distinction. They also select the winner of the Goodman award from the applications.

Palm Beach County Medical Society Auxiliary Scholarship

This scholarship was established in 1985 by the Palm Beach County Medical Society Auxiliary Inc. This award recognizes a third-year student who is a graduate of a Palm Beach County high school, has demonstrated service to the medical profession through developing and maintaining the highest professional and ethical standards of the medical profession, advocating the interests of physicians and their patients, and collaborating with others to improve the community’s health.